Thursday, October 6, 2016

TLC Book Tours: The Ramblers

About The Ramblers

the-ramblers-pb-cover• Paperback: 416 pages • Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (October 4, 2016) For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City. Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan—the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village—The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley’s sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled. Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York’s wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams. Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past, to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City—an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world and the mysteries of the human spirit. 
 
Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble



There were many things I loved about this book! The writing was beautiful and flowed well. I loved the cover and overall design of the book. I really enjoyed the setting and time frame of the book--I liked how it followed the characters throughout the Thanksgiving week, hour by hour, showing how all their lives intertwined.

That being said, I had difficulty connecting with the characters--Smith was the only one I found myself invested in. I found it to be a lot of "rich people problems".  Honestly, I would've loved the entire story from Smith's perspective, with Clio and Tate having a more secondary role. Overall though, it was a solid read with beautiful writing that I recommend for those that enjoy chick lit!

About Aidan Donnelley Rowley

Photo credit: Elena SeibertBorn and raised in New York City, Aidan Donnelley Rowley graduated from Yale University and received her law degree from Columbia University. She is the author of a previous novel, Life After Yes, and the creator of the Happier Hours Literary Salons. She lives in Manhattan with her husband and three daughters. Find Aidan on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.


 To see the rest of the tour, click here.

1 comment:

  1. Beautiful writing can really pull me into a story. I'm glad you enjoyed that aspect of this book. Thanks for being a part of the tour!

    ReplyDelete